The Classroom Bookshelf
Inside The Classroom Bookshelf

Square (Shape Trilogy)

918piR5ZfiL

Written by Mac Barnett; Illustrated by Jon Klassen Published in 2018 by Candlewick Books ISBN 978-0763696078 Book Review What does it mean to be an artist? Does it mean you have innate talent? Commit yourself to hard work? Are recognized as an artist by someone else? Or, maybe even something else altogether? Masters of the […]

Tiny, Perfect Things

tiny, perfect things

Written by M.H. Clark; Illustrated by Madeline Kloepper Published in 2018 by Compendium Books ISBN 9781946873064 Book Review Brimming with double page, intricate illustrations, Tiny, Perfect Things weaves simple prose with detailed images to invite young readers to pay attention to the beauty and mystery of the natural world around us. The opening page shows […]

Islandborn

Islandborn

Islandborn/Lola: Edicion en espanol de ISLANDBORN Written by Junot Díaz,  illustrated by Leo Espinosa Published by Dial Books ISBN:  978-0735229860 (English)/ ISBN:  978-0525552819 (Spanish) All Ages Book Review “Every kid in Lola’s school was from somewhere else. Hers was the school of faraway places.” But when her teacher asks her class to draw a picture of […]

The Word Collector

Word-Collector-Cover

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut

Crown

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut Written by Derrick D. Barnes and Illustrated by Gordon C. James Published in 2017 by Bolden, Agate Publishing ISBN 978-1-57284-224-3 Grades 1 – 6 A 2018 Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction Recommended Title Book Review “You came in as a lump of clay, a blank, canvas, a […]

What Do You Do With a Chance?

712+DVvSuyL

What Do You Do With a Chance? Written by Kobi Yamada and Illustrated by Mae Besom Forthcoming in Feb. 2018 by Compendium Inc. ISBN 978-1-943-20073-3 Grades PreK-3   Book Review “I wished I had taken my chance. I realized I had wanted it, but I still didn’t know if I had the courage.” The struggle […]

After the Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again

AfterTheFall_JCKT_09a.indd

After the Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again Written and illustrated by Dan Santat Published by Roaring Brook Press; 2017 ISBN # 978-1-62672-682-6   Grades PreK and up   Book Review   “Life begins when you get back up” – so says the blurb on the back cover of Caldecott Medal winner Dan […]

Windows

Windows

Windows Written by Julia Denos, Illustrated by E.B. Goodale Published by Candlewick Press, 2017 ISBN: 978-0-7636-9035-9 Grades Prek-2 Book Review Have you ever found yourself walking down a street at twilight, watching the lights pop on inside the houses and apartment buildings you pass by? As the northern hemisphere turns and twirls towards winter, autumn […]

The Antlered Ship

16601607_10212449670626863_4798105385337219467_o

The Antlered Ship Written by Dashka Slater and Illustrated by Terry and Eric Fan Published in 2017 by Beach Lane Books ISBN 978-1-4814-5160-4 Grades PreK-2 Book Review When a mysterious antlered ship arrives at Emerald Lagoon, a philosophical fox named Marco is suddenly filled with quixotic questions: Why do some songs make you happy and […]

Lines

Lines

Lines Written and illustrated by Suzy Lee Published by Chronicle Books, 2017 ISBN #978-1-4521-5665-1   Grades K and up   Book Review   Suzy Lee, acclaimed illustrator and virtuoso of the wordless picturebook, delivers another spectacular visual masterpiece in her latest book, Lines. A young girl revels in the freedom and creativity of ice skating […]