The Classroom Bookshelf
Inside The Classroom Bookshelf

Imagine! and Imagine

Imagine Colon

Imagine! Illustrated by Raúl Colón Published by Paula Wiseman/Simon & Schuster 2018 ISBN #978-1-4814-6273-0   Book Review   A boy’s first encounter with modern art is chronicled in this inviting wordless picture book by renowned artist Raúl Colón. Leaving his Brooklyn home, the boy skateboards across the Brooklyn Bridge, following a pigeon he spots in […]

Hey, Wall

imgres

Hey, Wall: A Story of Art and Community Written by Susan Verde; Illustrated by John Parra Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster ISBN 97814811453134 Grades PreK – Grade 5 Book Review “Look at you now. You are beautiful! Now you tell the real story of us. And together we are somethin’ to see!” In […]

Dad’s Camera

Dad's Camera

Dad’s Camera Written by Ross Watkins, Illustrated by Liz Anelli First US Edition, Candlewick Press, 2018 Originally Published as One Photo by Penguin Random House Australia, 2016 ISBN: 978-1-5362-0138-3   Grades 2-8 Book Review In this touching and quiet picture book, we learn about a father living with Alzheimer’s Disease through the eyes of his […]

Dear Substitute

Dear Substitute2

Dear Substitute Written by Liz Garton Scanlon and Audrey Vernick; Illustrated by Chris Raschka Published by Hyperion, 2018 ISBN # 978-1484750223   Grades K and up   Book Review What happens when a substitute teacher unexpectedly shows up and changes everything about the school day? In Dear Substitute, co-authors Liz Garton Scanlon and Audrey Vernick […]

Ocean Meets Sky

ocean-meets-sky-9781481470377_hr

Ocean Meets Sky Written and Illustrated by Terry and Eric Fan Published in 20818 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-7037-7 Book Review “Finn lived by the sea, and the sea lived by him.” In their second picture book collaboration as authors and illustrators, brothers Terry and Eric Fan have crafted another […]

Square (Shape Trilogy)

918piR5ZfiL

Written by Mac Barnett; Illustrated by Jon Klassen Published in 2018 by Candlewick Books ISBN 978-0763696078 Book Review What does it mean to be an artist? Does it mean you have innate talent? Commit yourself to hard work? Are recognized as an artist by someone else? Or, maybe even something else altogether? Masters of the […]

Tiny, Perfect Things

tiny, perfect things

Written by M.H. Clark; Illustrated by Madeline Kloepper Published in 2018 by Compendium Books ISBN 9781946873064 Book Review Brimming with double page, intricate illustrations, Tiny, Perfect Things weaves simple prose with detailed images to invite young readers to pay attention to the beauty and mystery of the natural world around us. The opening page shows […]

Islandborn

Islandborn

Islandborn/Lola: Edicion en espanol de ISLANDBORN Written by Junot Díaz,  illustrated by Leo Espinosa Published by Dial Books ISBN:  978-0735229860 (English)/ ISBN:  978-0525552819 (Spanish) All Ages Book Review “Every kid in Lola’s school was from somewhere else. Hers was the school of faraway places.” But when her teacher asks her class to draw a picture of […]

The Word Collector

Word-Collector-Cover

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut

Crown

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut Written by Derrick D. Barnes and Illustrated by Gordon C. James Published in 2017 by Bolden, Agate Publishing ISBN 978-1-57284-224-3 Grades 1 – 6 A 2018 Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction Recommended Title Book Review “You came in as a lump of clay, a blank, canvas, a […]