The Classroom Bookshelf
Inside The Classroom Bookshelf

Islandborn

Islandborn

Islandborn/Lola: Edicion en espanol de ISLANDBORN Written by Junot Díaz,  illustrated by Leo Espinosa Published by Dial Books ISBN:  978-0735229860 (English)/ ISBN:  978-0525552819 (Spanish) All Ages Book Review “Every kid in Lola’s school was from somewhere else. Hers was the school of faraway places.” But when her teacher asks her class to draw a picture of […]

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award: La Princesa and the Pea

La Princesa and the Pea

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner La Princesa and the Pea Written by Susan Middleton Elya and Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons in 2017 ISBN 978-0-399-25156-6 Grades PK – 4   Book Review This retelling of the classic tale “The Princess and the Pea” has South American flair and a unique […]

The Word Collector

Word-Collector-Cover

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut

Crown

Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut Written by Derrick D. Barnes and Illustrated by Gordon C. James Published in 2017 by Bolden, Agate Publishing ISBN 978-1-57284-224-3 Grades 1 – 6 A 2018 Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction Recommended Title Book Review “You came in as a lump of clay, a blank, canvas, a […]

Round

round-cover

Round Written by Joyce Sidman and illustrated by Taeeun Yoo Published in 2017 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt ISBN 978-0-544-38761-4 Grades PreK – 6 Book Review In Joyce Sidman’s latest nonfiction picture book, a young girl professes, “I love round things,” and so launches a poetic exploration of all things round. Immersive mixed media illustrations crafted […]

What Do You Do With a Chance?

712+DVvSuyL

What Do You Do With a Chance? Written by Kobi Yamada and Illustrated by Mae Besom Forthcoming in Feb. 2018 by Compendium Inc. ISBN 978-1-943-20073-3 Grades PreK-3   Book Review “I wished I had taken my chance. I realized I had wanted it, but I still didn’t know if I had the courage.” The struggle […]

Little Fox in the Forest

Little Fox in the Forest

Little Fox in the Forest Illustrated by Stephanie Graegin Published in 2017 by Schwartz & Wade Books ISBN 978-0-553-53789-5 A 2018 Charlotte Huck Award for Outstanding Fiction Honor Book Book Review Attachment to a treasured toy, a quest through a magical world, the acts of finding and of letting go…. Stephanie Graegin’s authorial debut explores […]

After the Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again

AfterTheFall_JCKT_09a.indd

After the Fall: How Humpty Dumpty Got Back Up Again Written and illustrated by Dan Santat Published by Roaring Brook Press; 2017 ISBN # 978-1-62672-682-6   Grades PreK and up   Book Review   “Life begins when you get back up” – so says the blurb on the back cover of Caldecott Medal winner Dan […]

Can an Aardvark Bark?

Aardvark

Can an Aardvark Bark? Written by Melissa Stewart and Illustrated by Steve Jenkins Published in 2017 by Beach Lane Books ISBN 978-1481458528 Grades PK – 4 Book Review: Bark, grunt, squeal, roar…. A chorus of animal vocalizations emanates from science writer Melissa Stewart’s latest picture book, a concept book focusing on the sounds that animals […]

Lines

Lines

Lines Written and illustrated by Suzy Lee Published by Chronicle Books, 2017 ISBN #978-1-4521-5665-1   Grades K and up   Book Review   Suzy Lee, acclaimed illustrator and virtuoso of the wordless picturebook, delivers another spectacular visual masterpiece in her latest book, Lines. A young girl revels in the freedom and creativity of ice skating […]