The Classroom Bookshelf
Inside The Classroom Bookshelf

Search Results for: word collector

The Word Collector

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

Affirming Children’s Worthiness with I Am Every Good Thing

From the author-illustrator team that brought you the Caldecott Honor- and Newbery Honor-winning Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, comes another poignant picturebook that celebrates Black joy and Black excellence.

Staying Strong: Summer Reading 2019

As you and your students celebrate the end of the school year, we offer you a collection of links designed to keep you and the children and young adults in your life happily reading over the next several months.

Ocean Meets Sky

Ocean Meets Sky Written and Illustrated by Terry and Eric Fan Published in 2018 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-7037-7 Book Review “Finn lived by the sea, and the sea lived by him.” In their second picture book collaboration as authors and illustrators, brothers Terry and Eric Fan have crafted another […]

Summer Reading 2018: Looking Back and Looking Ahead

As we head into summer, we wanted to take the time to look back and look ahead to share trends we’ve noticed in our writing about children’s and young adult literature this year. We’ve loved each of the books we’ve written about this year. We’ve found that these great stories and works of nonfiction have […]

Water Land: Land and Water Forms Around the World

Water Land: Land and Water Forms Around the World Written and Illustrated by Christy Hale Published in 2018 by Roaring Brook Press ISBN:  978-1-250-15244-2 Grades PK – 6 Book Review Author/illustrator Christy Hale employs geographic terminology and cutouts to offer an inventive exploration of land and water forms in her latest nonfiction picture book. The […]

A Snicker of Magic

A Snicker of Magic Written by Natalie Lloyd Published by Scholastic in 2014 ISBN: 978-0-545-55279-7 Grades 3 – 8 Book Review Twelve-year-old Felicity Pickle has a mama who is “cursed with a wandering heart;” as a result she’s a veteran at being the new girl. But when Mama’s heart leads her back to her childhood […]

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery Written by Sandra Neil Wallace and Illustrated by Bryan Collier Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-4387-6 Grades K-5 Book Review “Ernest looked around his neighborhood. It no longer appeared ordinary. In the movement […]

2011 ALA Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award: Dave the Potter

Dave the Potter: Artist, Poet, Slave Written by Laban Carrick Hill; Illustrated by Bryan Collier Little Brown, and Company, New York 2010 ISBN 978-0-316-10731-0 Book Review Dave the Potter, sometimes known as David Drake, was taught to read in South Carolina in the early 19th century, when it was against the law for an enslaved […]