Subscribe to SLJ
The Classroom Bookshelf
Inside The Classroom Bookshelf

Grace for Gus

Grace for Gus

Grace for Gus Written and illustrated by Harry Bliss Published by Katherine Tegen Books, 2018   Book Review At Midtown Elementary School in New York City, Grace’s class is raising money for the Gus Buddy Fund. Gus, the class guinea pig, spends most of his day in a cage and needs a friend. Spending much […]

World Make Way: New Poems Inspired by Art from The Metropolitan Museum of Art

World Make Way

World Make Way: New Poems Inspired by Art from The Metropolitan Museum of Art Edited by Lee Bennett Hopkins Published by Abrams Books for Young Readers with The Metropolitan Museum of Art ISBN: 978-1-4197-2845-7 Grades 4 and Up Book Review “Painting is poetry that is seen rather than felt, and poetry is painting that is […]

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build

a place to sart a family

A Place to Start a Family: Poems About Creatures That Build Written by David L. Harrison and Illustrated by Giles Laroche Published by Charlesbridge in 2018 ISBN 978-1-58089-748-8 Grades PK-6 Book Review Underground, on land, on water, and in the air: animals build shelter for themselves and their offspring. In their latest collaboration author David […]

Thank You, Earth

Thank You, Earth

Thank You, Earth: A Love Letter to Our Planet Written and photographed by April Pulley Sayre Published by Greenwillow Books, 2018 ISBN #978-0-06-269734-9   Grades K and up   Book Review It’s not just the pretty parts of our planet, but the sometimes slimy, sometimes scary parts and the “pale in-betweens” that are treasured as […]

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery

32960656._UY1854_SS1854_

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery Written by Sandra Neil Wallace and Illustrated by Bryan Collier Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-4387-6 Grades K-5 Book Review “Ernest looked around his neighborhood. It no longer appeared ordinary. In the movement […]

Islandborn

Islandborn

Islandborn/Lola: Edicion en espanol de ISLANDBORN Written by Junot Díaz,  illustrated by Leo Espinosa Published by Dial Books ISBN:  978-0735229860 (English)/ ISBN:  978-0525552819 (Spanish) All Ages Book Review “Every kid in Lola’s school was from somewhere else. Hers was the school of faraway places.” But when her teacher asks her class to draw a picture of […]

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award: La Princesa and the Pea

La Princesa and the Pea

2018 Pura Belpre Illustrator Award Winner La Princesa and the Pea Written by Susan Middleton Elya and Illustrated by Juana Martinez-Neal Published by G.P. Putnam’s Sons in 2017 ISBN 978-0-399-25156-6 Grades PK – 4   Book Review This retelling of the classic tale “The Princess and the Pea” has South American flair and a unique […]

The Word Collector

Word-Collector-Cover

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

2018 Newbery Award winner: Hello, Universe

Hello Universe

2018 Newbery Award Winner: Hello, Universe Written by Erin Entrada Kelly Published by Greenwillow Books, 2017 ISBN #978-0-06-241415-1   Book Review   The start of summer vacation should be the bright spot in 11-year old Virgil Salinas’s year. But shy, insecure, and misunderstood, he only sees it as the official notice of his Grand Failure […]

Orbis Pictus Honor Book – Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights, and the Flaws That Affect Us Today

Fault Lines

Fault Lines in the Constitution: The Framers, Their Fights, and the Flaws That Affect us Today By Cynthia Levinson and Sanford Levinson Published by Peachtree Publishers, 2017, ISBN 978-1-56145-945-2 Grades 6-Up Book Review On this President’s Day, it is important to note that “not one of our first eight presidents had any real power” (p. […]