The Classroom Bookshelf
Inside The Classroom Bookshelf
Katie Cunningham

About Katie Cunningham

Katie is an associate professor of literacy at Manhattanville College. Her work focuses on children’s literature, literacy methods, and literacy leadership. Katie is the author of Story: Still the Heart of Literacy Learning and co-author of Literacy Leadership in Changing Schools. She is passionate about the power of stories to transform lives.

Global Literature to Teach Global Understanding

imgres

Global Literature To Teach Global Understanding This spring, several new books that foster global understanding for childhood audiences have been released that are written and illustrated by international authors and illustrators. While these works of global literature certainly stand on their own, collectively they offer classrooms an opportunity for students to grow deeper understandings of […]

Rebound

imgres

Rebound Written by Kwame Alexander and Illustrated by Dawud Anyabwile Published in 2018 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Grades 4-8 ISBN: 978-0-544-86813-7   Book Review In this much-anticipated prequel to his Newbery-winning novel The Crossover, Kwame Alexander draws from similar themes and the rhythm of basketball to transport readers back in time to 1988 with another […]

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery

32960656._UY1854_SS1854_

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery Written by Sandra Neil Wallace and Illustrated by Bryan Collier Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-4387-6 Grades K-5 Book Review “Ernest looked around his neighborhood. It no longer appeared ordinary. In the movement […]

The Word Collector

Word-Collector-Cover

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]

Wishtree

52065618

Wishtree Written by Katherine Applegate and Illustrated by Charles Santoso 2017 Feiwel and Friends ISBN 978-1-250-04322-1   Grades 3-6 Book Review “My friends call me Red, and you can, too. But for a long time people in the neighborhood have called me ‘the wishtree.’” From celebrated author, Katherine Applegate, comes her latest literary triumph–Wishtree. Fast-paced, […]

What Do You Do With a Chance?

712+DVvSuyL

What Do You Do With a Chance? Written by Kobi Yamada and Illustrated by Mae Besom Forthcoming in Feb. 2018 by Compendium Inc. ISBN 978-1-943-20073-3 Grades PreK-3   Book Review “I wished I had taken my chance. I realized I had wanted it, but I still didn’t know if I had the courage.” The struggle […]

Why Am I Me?

9781338053142_mres

Why Am I Me? Written by Paige Britt and Illustrated by Sean Qualls and Selina Alko Published in 2017 by Scholastic Press ISBN 978-1-338-05314-2 Grades PreK-5   Book Review “Why am I me…and not you? Why are you, you…and not me?” These seemingly simple, yet profoundly philosophical questions are made to feel familiar in this […]

The Antlered Ship

16601607_10212449670626863_4798105385337219467_o

The Antlered Ship Written by Dashka Slater and Illustrated by Terry and Eric Fan Published in 2017 by Beach Lane Books ISBN 978-1-4814-5160-4 Grades PreK-2 Book Review When a mysterious antlered ship arrives at Emerald Lagoon, a philosophical fox named Marco is suddenly filled with quixotic questions: Why do some songs make you happy and […]

Dorothea Lange: The Photographer Who Found the Faces of the Depression

51H8I2YkwOL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_

Dorothea Lange: The Photographer Who Found the Faces of the Depression Written by Carole Boston Weatherford Illustrated by Sarah Green Published in 2017 by Albert Whitman & Company Grades 1-6 ISBN: 978-0-8075-1699-7 Book Review “More than a photographer, she was a storyteller with a camera.” Best known to the world for her iconic photograph Migrant […]

A Letter to All the Children of America

IMG_3303

For the past few years, we have launched our new blog season with a post that serves as a reflection on the current cultural context we are living in as teachers, librarians, and literature lovers. The past two years we wrote about what we believe matters most when selecting books and building classroom libraries. We […]