The Classroom Bookshelf
Inside The Classroom Bookshelf
Katie Cunningham

About Katie Cunningham

Katie is an associate professor of literacy at Manhattanville College. Her work focuses on children’s literature, literacy methods, and literacy leadership. Katie is the author of Story: Still the Heart of Literacy Learning and co-author of Literacy Leadership in Changing Schools. She is passionate about the power of stories to transform lives.

Hey, Wall

imgres

Hey, Wall: A Story of Art and Community Written by Susan Verde; Illustrated by John Parra Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster ISBN 97814811453134 Grades PreK – Grade 5 Book Review “Look at you now. You are beautiful! Now you tell the real story of us. And together we are somethin’ to see!” In […]

Ocean Meets Sky

ocean-meets-sky-9781481470377_hr

Ocean Meets Sky Written and Illustrated by Terry and Eric Fan Published in 20818 by Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-7037-7 Book Review “Finn lived by the sea, and the sea lived by him.” In their second picture book collaboration as authors and illustrators, brothers Terry and Eric Fan have crafted another […]

Square (Shape Trilogy)

918piR5ZfiL

Written by Mac Barnett; Illustrated by Jon Klassen Published in 2018 by Candlewick Books ISBN 978-0763696078 Book Review What does it mean to be an artist? Does it mean you have innate talent? Commit yourself to hard work? Are recognized as an artist by someone else? Or, maybe even something else altogether? Masters of the […]

Tiny, Perfect Things

tiny, perfect things

Written by M.H. Clark; Illustrated by Madeline Kloepper Published in 2018 by Compendium Books ISBN 9781946873064 Book Review Brimming with double page, intricate illustrations, Tiny, Perfect Things weaves simple prose with detailed images to invite young readers to pay attention to the beauty and mystery of the natural world around us. The opening page shows […]

This Year Let Books and Children Be Your Guide

FullSizeRender (15)

Imagine a town known for books and bookstores. At every turn you take along the winding roads, you spot another shop with more books in the window begging to be read by a curious reader. Book totes are at the entryway of every shop waiting to be filled. Clever shelf markers point you in new […]

Summer Reading 2018: Looking Back and Looking Ahead

Matthew surfboard

As we head into summer, we wanted to take the time to look back and look ahead to share trends we’ve noticed in our writing about children’s and young adult literature this year. We’ve loved each of the books we’ve written about this year. We’ve found that these great stories and works of nonfiction have […]

Global Literature to Teach Global Understanding

imgres

Global Literature To Teach Global Understanding This spring, several new books that foster global understanding for childhood audiences have been released that are written and illustrated by international authors and illustrators. While these works of global literature certainly stand on their own, collectively they offer classrooms an opportunity for students to grow deeper understandings of […]

Rebound

imgres

Rebound Written by Kwame Alexander and Illustrated by Dawud Anyabwile Published in 2018 by Houghton Mifflin Harcourt Grades 4-8 ISBN: 978-0-544-86813-7   Book Review In this much-anticipated prequel to his Newbery-winning novel The Crossover, Kwame Alexander draws from similar themes and the rhythm of basketball to transport readers back in time to 1988 with another […]

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery

32960656._UY1854_SS1854_

Between the Lines: How Ernie Barnes Went from the Football Field to the Art Gallery Written by Sandra Neil Wallace and Illustrated by Bryan Collier Published in 2018 by Simon and Schuster Books for Young Readers ISBN 978-1-4814-4387-6 Grades K-5 Book Review “Ernest looked around his neighborhood. It no longer appeared ordinary. In the movement […]

The Word Collector

Word-Collector-Cover

The Word Collector Written and Illustrated by Peter Reynolds 2018 Orchard Books ISBN 978-0-545-86502-9 Grades K-5 Book Review Fans of Peter Reynolds’ Ish, The Dot, and Happy Dreamer, will be delighted by his latest picturebook, The Word Collector. Reynolds continues his trend of crafting seemingly simple text with significant and lasting meaning, this time with […]